Perfect weather conditions and more than 2,300 starts were the basis for a successful 20th anniversary edition of the RiderMan in Bad Dürrheim. Already on Friday, the 16 kilometer individual time trial could be held in the best conditions, so that fast times of the active protagonists were recorded. In the men’s race, Benedikt Helbig of Team Magnesium Pur e.V. was just six seconds longer than the previous year’s track record and won the race in 20:21 minutes, an average speed of over 47 km / h. Damir was Helbig also the first bearer of the yellow leader jersey in the overall classification of the 3-stage race. 19 seconds behind, Tobias Eise from Team MTS-TRIEBWERK GCC Cycling finished in second place in 20:40 minutes, a further 20 seconds ahead of the day’s third, Christian Thomas from Team Strassacker, who narrowly missed the 21st minute. Minute limit failed. In the women’s race, Helena Bieber had the fastest legs, 10 seconds ahead of Janine Meyer (Team LeXXiSmartSuits powered by Tune) with 23:54 minutes and another two seconds ahead of Larissa Drysdale from Wv Cycling Sneek, who finished third.

On Saturday, the stage race continued for the almost 700 remaining tour starters. It was a stage over ambitious 121 kilometers and 1850 meters in altitude on the program and all on a varied selectively charming and scenic route. In a gripping final sprint of a top group of five, the Belgian Niels Merckx (Unlimited Cycling Team Belgium) prevailed with a narrow margin of one second ahead of his compatriot Anthony Spysschaert (Team German Childhood Cancer Foundation). Once again on the podium, this time in third place, Tobias Eise raced with Spysschaert at the same time. The lead after two stages in the overall standings was able to successfully defend Benedikt Helbig with fourth place in the day. As in the previous year, the women’s Ils van der Moeren (Grinta Granfondo Team) won the day’s victory on the second day of the race. Together with Janine Meyer she dominated the stage confidently and was two seconds ahead of Meyer in the final sprint. The winner of the individual time trial, Helena Bieber, was already 9:00 minutes behind van der Moeren in third place. Janine Meyer slipped through her two second places in the yellow leader jersey of the overall leader in the ladies.

On Sunday morning there were initially some clouds at the Bad Dürrheimer sky, but again mild temperatures and during the day also sunshine for optimal conditions on the last day at RiderMan. To the finals, many other day starters joined the stage drivers, so that a field of over 900 participants punctually at 11:15 on the 99-kilometer route made. Again, as on the previous day, there was a close decision on the last kilometer and again Niels Merckx from Belgium won just ahead of Tobias Eise and Christoph Mai from Team Strassacker. Benedikt Helbig lost valuable seconds in the fight for the overall ranking as fifth in the day, which is why there was another change in the overall ranking of the RiderMan. Eise snatched overall victory by a mere 34 seconds ahead of Helbig and Merckx completed his successful weekend in third place, 1:18 minutes behind Eise.

And women also had a change in the overall standings on the last stage. The Dutchman Ils van der Moeren secured the day’s victory on the last stage with a sovereign victory in 2:32:35 hours and the overall victory in the RiderMan 2019. Janine Meyer landed on the third stage, but had just under six minutes behind in the finish van der Moeren. With one second ahead of Meyer, Jasmine Rebmann secured second stage rank and third place in the women’s overall ranking.

This is the end of a spectacular and successful cycling weekend in Bad Dürrheim. With the first integrated Heuer Cup for license drivers, the new Family Ride, an inclusion cycle race and last but not least the online livestream, successful premiere events were included in the program, which will be further established and expanded next year. The 21st edition of the RiderMan is already in the starting blocks and is scheduled for 18 to 20 September 2020.

Results | Livestream | Photos & Videos 2019