Changeable but in total some good weather conditions were the basis for a successful 19th edition of the RiderMan in Bad Dürrheim. Already on Friday, the 16-kilometer individual time trial was held on mostly dry roads. Along with the pleasant temperatures, there were correspondingly fast times. In the men’s race Jason Osborne powered the old track record of 2016 by more than half a minute and won with the fabulous time of 20:15 minutes, which corresponds to an average speed of 47 km/h. Since Osborne had joined only as a day starter to the RiderMan, the yellow leader jersey in the overall standings of the 3-stage race went to the day’s second Christian Kreuchler (BKK Mobile Oil Cycling Team), who was two seconds faster than Christian Müller (Team Sportimport Biehler) in third place. In the women’s race Lisa Brömmel of the IGOS Cycle Cafe Team had the fastest legs, 16 seconds ahead of Anne Wilke (Team 2Rad Joos / RSV Seerose) and another eight seconds ahead of Dutch Marina van Dijk, who finished third.

On Saturday, the stage race continued for the almost 700 remaining tour starters. It was a stage over ambitious 109 kilometers and 1650 meters in altitude and all on a varied and selectively charming route. In a final sprint of a top eleven group Christian Müller was able to prevail with a narrow lead of two seconds ahead of the Belgian Niels Merckx. On the third daily rank Maximilian Hornung (Herrmann Radteam) landed another second behind. With his victory, Müller also took over the overall lead in after two stages. In the women’s race, Ils van der Moeren (Grinta Granfondo Team) took the victory by more than 4:30 minutes ahead of Naima Madlen Diesner (Team Tuspo Weende), who finished third with Marina di Dijk (Cycloteam) at the same time. Van der Moeren also succeeded in riding into the yellow leader jersey of the overall leader in the women’s category.

On Sunday morning, there were a few showers at thestart, but during the day, the sun came through quickly and provided windy but dry and pleasant external conditions. For the final day, many more day starters joined the stage riders, so that a field of almost 800 participants made the 87-kilometer route. Once again, as in the previous day, there was a final sprint for the ten-man breakaway group that was won by Niels Merckx from Belgium just ahead of Stefan Parinussa (Team German Childhood Cancer Foundation) and Valentin Szalay (BKK Mobil Oil Cycling Team). As Christian Muller finished 21 seconds behind, there was another change in the overall ranking of the RiderMan. Christian Kreuchler grabbed the overall victory in 2018 with only nine seconds ahead of Müller and also the third overall Maximilian Hornung was close to victory with 14 seconds behind Kreuchler.

And in the women race there was also a change in the overall standings on the last stage. Marina van Dijk secured the daily and overall victory at the RiderMan in an exciting final sprint of a trio in 2:21:23 hours. Second-placed Naima Madlen Diesner moved up to third place overall with her podium place and finished ahead of third-placed Anne Wilke. Ils van der Mooren had to pay tribute to their day before and landed with 3:46 minutes behind on the fourth stage rank, but was at least able to retract second place in the overall standings with 25 seconds behind.

This concludes an exciting and successful cycling weekend in Bad Dürrheim and finds its next editon in the 20th anniversary of the RiderMan, which is scheduled for September 20 to 22, 2019.